Flower Dome @ Gardens by the Bay

I got a few hours of early release from office today (one day earlier than Chinese New Year Eve) and my kids should be having fun at their childcare, so I decided to maximise my few hours of freedom. After having a quick lunch, I headed down to Bloodbank@DhobyGhaut to donate some ‘healthy’ blood before the CNY festive contamination. Bloodbank@DhobyGhaut, located in the Dhoby Xchange right above Dhoby Ghaut MRT station is definitely much more convenient than Bloodbank@HSA.

Then off I went to Gardens by the Bay. I had already went to Cloud Forest with my wife sometime ago, so decided to take a look at the Flower Dome again (my first visit was during its preview during one of the Orchid Exhibition). Before I reach the domes, I was already greeted with festive colours of flowers. Nice!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Festive colours

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Fisheye fun

I had not gotten a fisheye lens when I first visited Flower Dome during its preview and now that I had one, I tried to play with it in the wide area inside the conservatory.

After having fun with my fisheye lens, I turned my focus on the colourful flowers. I read that the flowers will be changed slowly throughout the year, to reflect the ‘changing’ seasons. So I presume it is the spring colours I’m seeing now, predominantly red, pink, yellow and white.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Flowers everywhere

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Festive mood

Nearer the exit… it is not the flowers but a simple chinese knitting that caught my attention.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Comparing the two domes, I prefer the Cloud forest to the Flower Dome. I found the former’s multistorey architecture, waterfall and varied flowers much more interesting.

 

Leave a Reply

